Hit and RunNovember 8, 2018
Hit and Run motor vehicle accidents can have dire consequences for the victims. Aside from significant physical injuries or death, the mental distress and property damage can be traumatic and debilitating.
In some cases, drivers that leave the scene of a hit and run accident that they caused could be going for help. It is the ones that do not come back who can face the most serious repercussions.
All drivers that cause auto accidents are responsible for stopping and taking responsibility. Even if they have hit a parked car and the owner is not there, the driver should leave their contact information on the car.
Why Do They Run?
Any driver that is found to be guilty of leaving the scene can face a suspended license, traffic violation, and even a felony charge, depending on the severity of the crash.
Oftentimes, the at-fault driver may not even realize what they have done; it could be dark out, the crash impact was minimal, or they were intoxicated. The driver could be using a stolen vehicle or driving on a suspended license; or they could just be afraid of the penalties they will face.
When they do run, the police should be contacted as soon as possible.
Call the Police
The first thing that hit and run crash victims should do is attend to their immediate medical needs and check on any passengers, and then contact law enforcement. It is essential to get a police report, and to take complete photos at the scene.
After this, the victim should have a look at their auto insurance policy. Most policies have uninsured motorist coverage (UMC), which offers protection for the victims in these situations. This coverage can pay for medical expenses, lost wages, and vehicle repairs. It also covers pedestrians when they have been a victim of a hit and run.
Uninsured and Underinsured Motorist Coverage
In most motor vehicle accidents, the at-fault driver’s insurance company will pay for the damages. When the at-fault driver does not have insurance, or if they have fled the scene, uninsured motorist coverage is a good thing to have. Maryland law stipulates that all drivers have auto insurance that includes UMC. Yet many drivers do not.
Underinsured drivers are another issue; in these situations, the at-fault driver has insurance, but its liability limits are not enough to pay for the damages caused. The Financial Responsibility Law of Maryland specifies that every vehicle in the state must be insured, with a minimum coverage of $30,000 bodily injury/$60,000 for 2 or more people/$15,000 property damage. The actual costs incurred in an accident, especially a serious one, could be much higher.
When an auto accident involves a hit and run, or an uninsured or underinsured at-fault driver, the victim should consider contacting a Baltimore car accident lawyer.
Baltimore Car Accident Lawyers at LeViness, Tolzman & Hamilton Represent Hit and Run Car Accident Victims
If you were involved in a hit and run accident or an accident with an uninsured or underinsured driver, you need experienced legal help. Baltimore car accident lawyers at LeViness, Tolzman & Hamilton are highly knowledgeable about motor vehicle accidents, including at-fault driver responsibility and insurance. We can help you get the compensation you deserve. To schedule a free, confidential consultation, call us today at 800-547-4LAW (4529) or contact us online.
Our offices are located in Baltimore, Columbia, Glen Burnie, and Towson, allowing us to represent car accident victims in Maryland, including those in Anne Arundel County, Baltimore County, Carroll County, Harford County, Howard County, Montgomery County, Maryland’s Western Counties, Prince George’s County, Queen Anne’s County, Southern Maryland, and the Eastern Shore, as well as the communities of Catonsville, Essex, Halethorpe, Middle River, Rosedale, Gwynn Oak, Brooklandville, Dundalk, Pikesville, Nottingham, Windsor Mill, Lutherville, Timonium, Sparrows Point, Ridgewood, and Elkridge.